Diary for Jan 8 – Welcome back!

Here’s the pic of the lesson plan.

ATTENDANCE. Today 20 people came to class — we welcomed 2 more people (now the total is 29 + 9 but there are people who never come), 2 others had missed Term 1 (Evaluación continua) but will be catching up and taking the spring practice test.

FEEDBACK. I’ll be checking the emails I got with catch up work this week, I hope!

READING AN AUTOBIOGRAPHY. I gave out the Wangari Maathai handout, which people will read for next day, when each will comment if they read /red/ the book these past weeks, and which their fav passages or chapters are.

LANGUAGE AWARENESS WORKSHOPS. We started reading Time and Tense (people, remember to jot down in our paper diary the work you share in class, for E.C.) You need to print it because it’s 6 pages. You will be using it in the non-Maathai lessons to work in small groups telling stories like the little ones I use in these notes to help you understand and encourage you to practice.

WRITING TASK 3. We agreed on deadlines: next Tuesday is the very last day to hand in Writing Task 3, the Human Rights formal letter. Asun volunteered to scan the notes I gave out in December and post it on your whatsapp group. I’ll be publishing that on the page above.

VIDEO PROJECTS. About your bits for the two community videos, I’d appreciate it if you sent it this week, but next week would also be OK. Later than that would be problematic, so if you think you can’t do your part, please, offer it to a classmate!

We reviewed some key questions: the Writing File (how to hand in your work, how to work on your assignments), the Speaking File (recording final versions of audios/audiovisuals you worked on), the LoM (with my feedback and other), the world of oral and written Texts, language questions we’ll be tackling this month, and I presented the idea of alternating lessons on Language and the Maathai projects… (But we’ll be doing more than that.) We also spoke about Wangari Maathai’s book, the donation we’re getting of the documentary, and about Education for Equality and our courageous project of the I Feminist Cultural Week in public / state-run education.

About next Tuesday 15: As you will see in the Maathai handout, I scheduled it for a session on the book, but we could also do a bit of the Time and Tense handout. There’s something else: there will be demonstrations in support of the struggle against sexism in all of Andalucía starting at 19.00. If few people come to class and they’re all into attending, we could be doing that (just mentioning it for late-comers). Some teachers are suggesting  the whole school could join the protest, but I’m reluctant to leaving class at lesson time, as you know, so it’ll be up to the people coming to class, on my part.

Getting Organized. I also requested people to please FOLLOW THIS BLOG, particularly if not coming to class or being late. And to please consider organizational matters, such as picking copies from the chair if you are late so that I don’t get distracted so often with that (I’m growing old and have a lot on my mind these days!) (There’s an old post on this somewhere…)

NAVBAR. These days I’ll be updating the navbar above, so you can find links to posts on those topics.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.